Black & White Portraits inspired by Sugar Skulls Part III

DSC_0470

16/1/12 – Darkness

So I have decided to add some more work in progress photos. There was one afternoon, where I did have some free time so I decided to take 387 photographs. The sugar skull makeup does take a few hours to complete and I just keep taking photographs until the sun disappears. I have decided to darken the photographs; this particular effect intensifies my own personal connection to death.

DSC_04711

For some reason, I always associate death with darkness; I then begin to wonder how the living body becomes a decomposing corpse. Once the body dies, I believe that the body submerges into complete darkness. My favourite image so far is the one with black and white sugar skull; the skull becomes the main focal paint within the image that contrasts with the makeup as well as the dark backdrop.

DSC_0474

The skull does capture my attention immediately as well as the various patterns and designs. My face on the other hand appears to be submerging into darkness; the image does provide a very interesting juxtaposition between the actual sugar skull and the makeup.  I must admit, I was quite difficult to photograph myself with an SLR camera in one hand and a sugar skull in the other. This particular idea did require quite a lot of patience in order to capture a clear image.

DSC_0496

When I decorated the sugar skull, I did have a problem with the icing sugar, the mixture was so runny it just decided to just spill all over the place. Instead of
throwing away the sugar skull, I decided to incorporate the mistake into the actual design. The skull does appear to be crying; this particular element does add an interesting effect to the photograph. Here are some more photographs for now, enjoy!


2 responses to “Black & White Portraits inspired by Sugar Skulls Part III

Leave a Reply

