Blue & Orange Sugar Skull

DSC_0213
11/1/13 – New Colour Combination for the Sugar Skull

A couple of weeks ago, I decided to decorate another sugar skull with orange and blue icing sugar that I had made from the food colouring I had purchased from the supermarket. This is by far the best design I have produced so far, as the icing sugar is the ideal consistency; the icing isn’t too thick or runny. I was able to apply a even layer of icing sugar to the mould, even the colour of the icing sugar is brighter than the previous batch I had made last year.

DSC_0214

I am a fan of complimentary colours, this may explain the reason why I am interested in Pop Art, so I decided to use orange and blue for the design. I didn’t really plan the design, I just decided to make random patterns and decorations, there wasn’t a specific plan or direction. To be honest, I don’t think there ever is a specific plan and when I do have one it does change the last minute, especially if the icing is too runny.

DSC_0216

I was actually inspired by the last sugar skull I had decorated; I had created large floral patterns around the eye sockets. I also used the icing sugar to create small dots in order to create different patterns; while the icing I had used for the first sugar skull was rather thick, the icing I had made for the second skull was smooth and relatively easy to use.

DSC_0217

I’m quite pleased with the results and it did take a while for me to get used to the icing sugar. I’ve decided to take some photographs on the side table opposite the window: I thought the texture within the wood make make an interesting backdrop. The skull doesn’t really contrast with the wooden table; perhaps I’ll try a dark backdrop. Stay tuned, there will be plenty more sugar skulls on the site in the next couple of weeks.

DSC_0218


One response to “Blue & Orange Sugar Skull

Leave a Reply

