Poster advertising Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson, Wreck & Ruin


20130110_153429-2
9/1/12 – Day of the Dead Skeletons within Music Poster 

The other day, I was walking through the city centre of Geelong and I had recognised a poster that was attached to the side of an old building. The poster features two Mexican Day of the Dead skeletons holding a rooster; it’s quite hard to actually see the poster as the majority of it has been ripped. The poster features Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson’s latest album, “Wreck & Ruin”, I am assuming that the poster is promoting some sort of music concert. All the details have been ripped off the poster so I cannot actually see what the poster is advertising.

The various patterns and designs do remind me of the Mexican sugar skulls; it is interesting to see how an Australian country singer has appropriated the Mexican Day of the Dead skulls. From my own personal opinion, the poster and the album cover demonstrate the growing interest in the Day of the Dead celebration within Australia.

20130110_153435

What I do find interesting is the fact that the poster has been printed in black and white, as the original album cover is very colourful and illustrative. For me personally the black and white poster adopts a western approach towards the Day of the Dead celebration. This then leads me to my next question, is colour an important element within the Mexican Day of the Dead?

All the skulls and skeletons that I have seen so far usually feature very colourful designs; the use of colour may reflect a positive attitude towards death.
Chambers new album “Wreck & Ruin” feature a creative and illustrative design that may represent the artist’s fascination with the Mexican Day of the Dead. This is the first time I have seen a poster advertising Kasey Chambers, I’m hoping to actually find a poster that isn’t ripped or damaged!

Please click on the URL below to visit Chamber’s Website.

http://www.kaseychambers.com/latestnews/wreck-ruin


Leave a Reply

