The Borrowed Girl by Gabrielle Carey

9780330355988

6/1/2013 – Gabrielle Carey reflects Mexico’s Cultural and Spiritual Heritage. 

Yesterday I have just finished reading the “Borrowed Girl” by Gabrielle Carey; the book reflects the story of a young Mexican girl, Marianna who is adopted by a wealthy, Caucasian family. When her own mother, Clementina begins to realise that she is unable to support her own daughter due to financial difficulties, she allows Marianna to live with a family who are able to provide the comfort and the support she needs for a long, healthy life. As Marianna matures, she begins to learn more about her own cultural heritage; she begins to visit her grandmother and other members of the community who retell stories about the Spanish conquest and the Aztec gods.

Ok so I wont give too much information away because Carey’s novel is worth reading especially for those who have an interest for the Mexican culture. “The Borrowed Girl” describes the poverty in Mexico as well as the limited access to essential resources. It was quite hard to come to terms with the idea that many families struggle to earn a living and the ability to provide their own children with a proper education. On the other hand, the festivals and the traditions that are described within the book do adds a positive outlook. Instead, family and tradition become an important element within the book; I also found the stories quite fascinating!

So, I have throughly enjoyed reading this book and I have saved the “Borrowed Girl” for all the travelling I have to do in order to get to Melbourne. In the summer, the train line is usually delayed and I thought that I needed to save this book from moments of pure despair. I do become irritated with the public transportation in Victoria and the “Borrowed Girl” was a great distraction. If you are travelling in victoria via Vline and Metro, make sure to take a book with you.

I guess you could say I am writing a review on this particular book, although I was fascinated with Carey’s approach to death within the “Borrowed Girl”. Carey explains the spiritual representations of death within Mexico with relation to the Day of the Dead celebration and the altars that are installed within the homes of families and friends. The book had captured my attention right from the very start, it was actually quite difficult to withdraw my attention away from the “Borrowed Girl”.

According to Carey’s own website, Carey had lived in Mexico for five years and the “Borrowed Girl” reflects the author’s own personal experiences. Carey does mention Aztec mythology within the book, I do find the descriptions of Mictlan (The Land of the Dead) very interesting. While I would to love to explain this section to you all, I don’t want to spoil the book, so you’ll now have to go read the book.

While reading the “Borrowed Girl”, I have realised that Carey does mention skeletons throughout the book; It was very interesting to read Mexico’s own perspective of death. As I have read quite a lot about the Mexican culture, Carey’s own descriptions are quite extraordinary. While this is the first book I have read by Gabrielle Carey, The “Borrowed Girl” reflects a compelling story about a young girl who is determined uncover her own cultural and spiritual background. I would definitely recommend this book as Carey is a talented author who reflects Mexico’s “spiritual heritage” with creativity and imagination.

For further information click on the link below.

http://gabriellecarey.com.au/books


Leave a Reply

