Mictlancihuatl, 2012 by Sean Breasley

DSC_0157

Print by Sean Breasley. The Frame is Straight I was too short to take a Photo of the Whole Image.

3/1/2013 – Illustration of Mictlantecuhitl as Christmas Present

On Christmas I had received an original print from my boyfriend, Sean Breasely who is a talented illustrator and a graphic designer. When I had first seen the drawing last year, I was impressed with the level of detail, just to see the way the drawing was produced in illustrator was quite incredible.

DSC_0164

What amazes me, is the fact that each individual skull features a unique style and characteristic; the detail provides each skull with it’s own personality. Each skull is used to compose the shape of the woman’s hair; her pale face contrasts with the animated skulls and their lively facial expressions.

DSC_0176

Sean has explained that the illustration was inspired by my own research project, “Black Calavera” where I had used makeup to replicate the Mexican sugar skulls  within a Western / European context via black and white photography. I must admit, the illustration does look like me, even the shape of the nose! In fact, I am impressed with the overall design.

DSC_0175

Even though I have watched Sean create the illustration on the computer, I was quite pleased to see a large print that was wrapped in colourful christmas paper.
As soon as I saw the print under the miniature christmas tree, I was utterly delighted!

DSC_0161

As soon as I unwrapped the print, I asked myself where I would hang this lovely print I have received. Well this is a good question because most of the space of my wall has been covered with posters, artworks, magazine covers and photographs. Well of course I had to make some room, but I decided to place the print opposite my bed and because I am short it has been placed at the ideal height, which is also a bonus.

DSC_0162

The print has become a memento, the image reminds me of the research and the work I have produced last year as part of my university project. It is nice to have an original artwork on the wall; something that reminds me of my own research project. The work is also titled, “Mictlancihuatl” who is the goddess of death in Aztec Mythology, this is a concept I have explored throughout my project and I am pleased to see such an elaborate illustration on my very own wall.

DSC_0180

I would recommend visiting Sean’s blog, there is some great work on display at the moment. Please click on the URL link for further information.

http://seanbreasley.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/mictlantecuhtli-2012/

http://seanbreasley.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

