Sugar Skulls on Christmas Day

DSC_0481

25/12/12 – Green & Red Sugar Skull

Sugar Skulls and Photography by Charlotte Pridding

Merry Christmas everyone, I hope everybody has had a lovely day! On this festive occasion, I decided to create a christmas sugar skull with red and green icing sugar. At first the icing was quite runny and the mixture did spill all over the place but I decided to just create a spontaneous design. I didn’t really have an idea what I was going to create, due to time constraints I quickly designed another skull for the house along with the other six skulls I have placed in the lounge room.

The sugar skulls have become a very interesting project that I will continue with next year, it’s so interesting to see how many designs you can make on one sugar skull mould. I still have a lot of practise ahead of me but I will be focusing on refining my technique in 2013. I can’t believe I have been blogging almost every single day for the past nine months, it has been such a huge achievement and I can;t believe I am now decorating sugar skulls on a regular basis. At the beginning of the year I didn’t even know about the Mexican sugar skulls and now I’m designing all sorts of different patterns and designs.

Thanks to everybody who has supported the blog over the past few months and stay tune for future updates, there are a few more skulls left to decorate before I have to make a new batch!

Merry Christmas everyone.

Black Calavera xx


Leave a Reply

