Blue, Yellow & Grey Sugar Skull

DSC_0185

15/12/12 – Practising Sugar Skull Decorating 

Since it’s only a few days away till christmas, I thought I would decorate a sugar skull for my supervisor. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to practise on my sugar skull decorating skills with the royal icing. I must admit decorating a skull with icing sugar is quite challenging, the icing has to be the right consistency for your design to work properly.

DSC_0187

I thought painting was difficult, using icing sugar as a paint brush is highly complex, especially when the mixture doesn’t exactly stick into the right place. So what do I do in this situation? I just keep going until I achieve a design I am pleased with. Decorating the skulls has made me realised how much time and effort goes into these sugar skulls especially for the Day of the Dead Celebration.

DSC_0195

As many of you know by know I have been using black icing sugar but I decided to use a range of colours. For this skull I decided to use blue, yellow and grey, the design was quite spontaneous, although I am pleased with the colour combination. Over the summer holidays, it is my goal to perfect the art of sugar skull decorating, heck it may even take a few years, it’s a process that I enjoy so much I just cannot stop myself!

Stay tuned for my pictures of the sugar skulls!

Copyright Charlotte Pridding.


Leave a Reply

