Blurred Photograph

17/10/12 – Blurred Self Portrait

At the moment I’ve been experimenting with my own photographs, I deliberately blurred this photograph in order to produce a different effect. I printed out the original photograph, crumpled it and splashed paint over the top, then I took a photograph of the image and I deliberately moved the camera. As I result, I do find the photograph quite creepy, dark and sinister, my face almost looks like it’s melting.

At the very beginning, I did paint similar patterns and designs from the Mexican Day of the Dead Skulls to my own face, although this particular processes distorts my image completely. I can’t even recognise myself, it’s almost like looking at another person. The photograph remind me of something you would see from a horror film and my eyes, face and nose look like they’re melting away.

These processes are useful in terms of developing and preparing for the exhibiton. At the moment I am trying to determine what photographs to include into my installation.


Leave a Reply

