Art Books with Skulls!

1/10/12 – Cleaning Bedroom

So it’s been a while since I have posted anything onto the blog, I have suddenly realised that I have only three weeks to submit my thesis eekkk! Time really is ticking away and today I decided to clean out my bedroom, I could have written more for my thesis, but Instead I cleaned my room. I usually store quite a lot of stuff that I don’t really need so I thought it was time to grab a plastic white bag and put all of the rubbish in the bin.

I’m not an overly messy person, I just like to keep everything relatively clean. Anyway I have realised that I have accumulated a collection of books in relation to the Mexican Day of the Dead Celebration and the skull in contemporary art. At the moment I have all of these books lying under the bed and I finally decided to put them away in my bookshelf!

All of the books have assisted with the research and my own written thesis, if your into skulls I would definitely recommend looking through these books.


4 responses to “Art Books with Skulls!

  • Comrade's Calacas

    … any chance of getting a bibliography of what was found? Some of those look like worthwhile additions to my own shelf-space, but I can’t see the titles or author info! 😀

    • Black Calavera

      yeah no problems 😀 Here’s the one’s I have so far,

      Elizabeth Carmichael and Chloe Sayar. The Skeleton at the Feast: The Day of the Dead in Mexico. Texas: Texas Press Printing, 2003.

      Antoni Cadafalch. The Day of the Dead: El Dia De Los Muertos. London: Koreno Books, 2011.

      Antoni Cadafalch. Skull Face. London: Koreno Books, 2011.

      Faye Dowling. The Book of Skulls. Laurence King Publishing Ltd, 2011.

      Regina.M.Marchi The Day of the Dead in the USA: The Migration and Transformation of a Cultural Phenomenan. New Jersey: Rutgers University Press, 2009.

      • Comrade's Calacas

        You RULE. Thank you so much: off to Amazon with me!

      • Black Calavera

        no problems, glad I could help. They’re really good books and if you’re into the day of the dead celebration, the one by elizabeth carmichael and chloe sayar has really good research 🙂

        Another good book is,

        Brandes, Stanley. Skulls to the Living, Bread to the Dead. The Day of the Dead in Mexico and Beyond. Australia: Blackwell Publishing, 2006

        I don’t have this book, but I’ve read through the online ebook, what I read so far has been really good 🙂

Leave a Reply

