Skulls at Melbourne Museum

28/9/12 – Trip to the Melbourne Museum

Visiting the Melbourne Museum on a rainy day was the best decision ever! Not only was I undercover, I had seen some very interesting installations inside the museum. My supervisor had suggested that I take a visit to the museum in order to gain ideas for the exhibition. I walked into the animal / insect room and I was impressed with the display, all of the beetles and butterflies for instance were used to create different patterns or swirls which I did find very creative.

During my visit, I had noticed that most of the items and the installations in the museum were displayed on a slant. The display actually provides a different experience and a completely different perspective of the artefacts within the space.

As I walked through the Melbourne Museum on a late Friday afternoon, I finally discovered the Human Body section. I have visited the Museum a couple of years ago and I do remember that this particular area or section was really interesting. I had noticed many skulls that were protected into glass containers, although I wasn’t too sure if they were real or fake.

Once I had read some of the information in the space, I had realised that some of the skulls and skeletons were actually real. In one of the rooms, I had discovered the skeleton of an 89 year old man, whose remains had been bleached and joined together with metal hinges. It was quite an amazing experience to actually see a real human skeleton, although the glass container and the metal hinges did become a distraction.

The skeleton didn’t really resonate any kind of connection with death and the materials that were used to hold the skeleton in place may have distracted my attention from the actual form. Other than that, it was the first real human skeleton I have ever seen in my life and it was quite interesting to see what we all look like on the inside.

There were skulls all around the museum and I couldn’t stop looking at them. Here is a real human skull, in a glass container looking directly at me. The skulls on display had invited me to question the person’s previous existence; who was the person, where were they from, when had they died?

What was there not to like about the museum? All of the information was interesting to read and the display was definitely inspiring. All photographs taken inside the Melbourne Museum.


Leave a Reply

