The Four Horsemen: Apocalypse, Death and Disaster

Print/ Illustration from the Exhibiton

22/9/12 – Latest exhibiton at the Nation Gallery of Victoria.

On the day of my birthday, I had received a book from an exhibition at the NGV, “The Four Horsemen”. I am very pleased that I now have a copy of this book and I can’t wait to read through it! I remember visiting the exhibition last month and I was amazed with the level of detail in the prints and the illustrations on display.

According to the NGV website, artists had emphasized death,famine and disease in Europe during the 18th century. Most of the prints,paintings and illustrations in the gallery space featured skulls and skeletal figures mocking or imitating the living world. Hans Holbein’s” Dance of Death” was also exhibited at the National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne and I was an incredible experience to actually see the artist’s work in person.

Catalouge from the NGV Shop.

I was expecting the print to be quite large, instead there were three very small prints that were carefully framed and mounted to the wall. I had to take a closer look at the images on display and it was impossible to see anything from a distance. I was so amazed by the level of detail in such a small illustration and everytime I went back to the images, I was able to witness something completely different. I would also recommend buying thr catalouge at the NGV bookshop!

http://ngvshop.ngv.vic.gov.au/books-and-catalogues/ngv-publications/four-horsemen-apocalypse-death-and-disaster

The National Galleryof Victoria, The Four Horsemen: Apocalypse, Death and Disaster, NGV Website, http://www.ngv.vic.gov.au/whats-on/exhibitions/exhibitions/the-four-horsemen (Accessed 22/9/12)


Leave a Reply

