Anatomy Catalogue

28/4/12 Melbourne University – Bookstore

On the way to my Film Theory class, I walked past the bookstore for Medical Science / Anatomy, which also featured a full length skeleton in the front window. The store also featured various reproductions of different skulls in a range of different colours that were for sale. I decided to collect a catalogue at the front of the store and I recognised an image of a skull or skeleton on every page.

I decided to create a collage from these images and the constant repetition of the human skull did become quite overwhelming. I started to feel disoriented and it was hard to actually look at one particular image for a long period of time without looking at the overall collage. The objective of this particular process was to identify my own emotions or responses in relation the skull.

Melbourne University Bookstore, Parkville Campus, Anatomy Catalogue 


Leave a Reply

